

Durham Literacy's Annual Leaders In Literacy Award Recognizes Sy Mauskopf for Extraordinary Dedication to Promoting Education

The Durham Literacy Center is excited to announce that Dr. Seymour "Sy" Mauskopf has been selected as the 2024 recipient of their Leaders in Literacy Award. The award will be conveyed during the 17th annual benefit luncheon for the organization on April 5th at the J.B. Duke Hotel.

Dr. Mauskopf is a master educator and champion for literacy. He is well-respected for his commitment to equity at all levels of the educational system. He has served as a volunteer, mentor and board member for the Durham Literacy Center for almost 30 years.

Dr. Mauskopf taught the history of science at Duke University from 1964 through 2019, and earned the highest teaching honor at Duke – the Alumni Distinguished Graduate Teaching Award. He led several programs at Duke and co-authored numerous academic publications. Dr. Mauskopf is the recipient of various professional awards, grants and accolades, including the Woodrow Wilson Fellowship and the Dexter Award of the American Chemical Society.

Dr. Mauskopf received his B.A. at Cornell University and his Ph.D. at Princeton University. He started tutoring at the Durham Literacy Center in the mid-1990s and has served on the Board of Directors since the early 2000s. He still connects with his long-time "tutee," Mike, regularly. Most recently, Dr. Mauskopf has tutored children from the Boys and Girls Club through a literacy program hosted by the Forest at Duke.

Dr. Mauskopf is a living legend who has educated and mentored thousands of students in his six decades of teaching, showcasing his extraordinary dedication to Duke, the Durham Literacy Center and the greater Durham community. We are honored to present Sy Mauskopf with the 2024 Leader in Literacy Award at the Leaders in Literacy Benefit Luncheon on April 5, 2024.

Previous Leaders in Literacy honorees are:

- 2008 Dr. John Hope Franklin
- 2009 Bonnie Mount
- 2010 Mary Whaley Paul
- 2011 Mark and Stacy Yusko
- 2012 Mary Duke Biddle Trent Semans
- 2013 Durham Rotary Club's Reading Rangers
- 2014 Dr. Barbara Newborg
- 2015 RTI International
- 2016 SunTrust Bank
- 2017 Volunteers of the Durham Literacy Center (special for the 10th Annual LIL Award)
- 2018 Dr. Phail Wynn, Jr.
- 2019 The Fox Family Foundation
- 2020 Hiatus due to COVID-19
- 2021 Dr. Bart Ehrmann
- 2022 Triangle Ecycling
- 2023 Susan Springer

For More Information, Please Contact:

Lizzie Ellis-Furlong, Executive Director, (919) 489-8383, lizzie@durhamliteracy.org